Sunday, July 18, 2010

I feel the love!



I drove home late last night from camping in Tofino so that I could put on High Kicks#4 this morning. I got home late, and found I was pretty sunburned from hanging out in the sun. This morning I slept in a bit, overtired , whiplashed from really getting into the Bison show, and super dehydrated. I got up to the park for an hour of skating at noon.

The park was empty again, all mine for my endless enjoyment. I put on my headphones and cruised around, getting little pieces of air off the top off all the banks, singing, and hand dancing. I wore a hat today, and I like the way it closes off the outside world and forces focus on the immediate. I could only see about ten feet ahead. My own little world...my favorite! I rode past two decks leaning up against the long ledge at the bleacher side of the park when I got there. They kept catching my eye, and I rode up to the deep bowl to see if there were some kids hiding in it that they belonged to. I scanned the fields and the parking lot...all empty. Were these boards left here as gifts? There was no one else around. And in the hour I was there, no one made any move to claim them. Could I really put these complete and functioning decks into rotation for my girls? Fucking High Kicks!
Way to make my day, anonymous donor! I promise that they will be well used and it is very possible that you could be responsible for inspiring the valley's next girl skater to go on the road and live the dream!

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Super Summer Skates!


Awesome morning for me and my new wings.
I had a great time at the park. I did not fire up the hibachi, it was too hot out! I pushed around a few laps, and hung out in the shade next to the deep end of the bowl, back and forth, trying little tricks, laying on the cool cement, and hanging my body over the lip of the pocket.
I stayed for an hour...it felt like much longer. I had a fun time skating, but since the park was still all empty, I got bored...and hot, it was time to swim by 12.
I had a great week skating at the indoor while I worked, although I did get a few more achy parts from trying some new things! After last week's dumb slip on the coping and ensuing ass bruise, I rallied through the healing process quickly and then fell doing a wee backside 180 on the slippery floor. As I tried to save my butt the pain by using my lil hands as shock absorbers I hurt my wrist so now I can't use the thumb side of my hand to grab/turn/lift anything. Last night I was getting kickflips better, popping higher, but I nailed the inside of my sore ankle coming down fakie on a wallride I really think I'll get soon. I had a lot of fun skating with the younger kids, too. I put my jean vest down and we ollied it, just rocking back and forth, trying to ollie, then fakie ollie it on the way back. We all got it eventually.
A really great week!