Monday, November 29, 2010

wows

F'n high kicks!

Lizzie Armanto, winner of this years Vans Combi

Raising the bar.

end of year: big ups!


The second year of my girlskates is done. I have learned so many fun games and things to do on skateboards from these young ladies, and more of what they want to know from me. Its so much fun I don't ever want to stop! For the rest of this year, I have my Sundays at the indoor to play on my brand new board, and heal my stupid, rusty shoulder hinge. Tonight went out with a bang, and nearly tore the roof off the place. Not just from us girls getting rad, but also from the Wizard of Oz winds ripping rain sideways at the shed. I hope the indoor makes it through this winter in one piece and without drowning like it did last year. I have left explicit instructions to call me in the event of a flood. The park militia is at the ready with brooms and squeegies, awaiting orders.

Stay Rad and Have a great indoor skate season!

Monday, November 22, 2010

video nite

Another great class with my two current rippers. I showed them the footy from the Vans Combi Contest on the weekend, and the Skate Like A Girl NYC vid, and then we went into the bowl and I saw some skating with purpose. I saw some gals on a mission to get rad. And I was in there with them. I learned f/s boardslides, and let me tell you how rad it feels to learn a new trick after 20 years of, "I can only do backside". Booyeah.

Check said vids on "the side project" site. Can I put them here??
Well, I can't link, so check out the sideproject website!
Getting me hella stoked. Yes, I used the H word, and no, I am not drunk.




Monday, November 15, 2010

2 on a Tuesday

Tonight's girl's skate went great. Jasmine and Meghan came and we rocked it. I tried so hard to set up the projector tonight before classes. I guess I have to move it closer, cos no matter how low I put it, it showed the movie on the ceiling. Drove me crazy...and tilting it didn't help, I had two skate wheels stacked under each side on the back, so it was pointing at the ground...but playing on the ceiling. I found out, however, that the projector unit has great speakers, so the external computer speakers are unnecessary, and sound way worse and muffled. I'll try again next week. I bought the stuff to build a platform for it, so that I can show movies and skate vids all winter in the park. I'm totally starting with Thrashin'! Wait, are there boobies in that? Probably, it was the 80's. What was the older, Canadian skate film from the late 60's? I'll find that one...
I am beat today, and not really feeling energized. Went on a surf mission to Tofino over the weekend, and got a tattoo. Zapped my go power! But I always get charged when I get to do these so called lessons.
The girl's were wanting to know details about how the boards work, so it turned out great. We sat down and talked about the parts of a skateboard, and how many different combinations you can make. I busted out all the loaner boards so they could try the feel of different boards, wheels and decks. Then we pushed around, they rolled in off the little pyramid- on their feet!, and practiced kickturns on the transition. They are awesome. I gave one of the gals some old trucks and wheels that were in the junk drawer, hers were useless, she couldn't push hard enough to get up the transition, her bearings were so shot. Her trucks might have well have been made of plastic, they clicked side to side. Next week I want to make them videos. This means conquering my computer illiteracy fast!

Monday, November 1, 2010

yes!

I am so in love with skateboarding!
Or, more precisely, I am so loving the sharing of the stoke!
I had such a great time tonight with the gals in their last class! They are awesome! I ran myself ragged, holding their hands, or hand, to help the ride up to the coping, back and forth until I couldn't breathe anymore, so much fun. No more buttboarding! I told them, they have graduated to riding! They must learn to push strong, I told them. I hope they come back for the next round, or to the Tuesday night sessions at the LINC that I am not invited to because I am not a tween.
I spent a half hour after with the stereo turned up just ripping around by myself, so much fun. I can feel the difference the yoga I'm doing is making in my rehab program. It's leaps and bounds more than anything else I've tried. Fuck Yeah.