Sunday, June 27, 2010

BBQ#2

I was watching the crows...and I think they flew off with my confidence.

I got there, and it was perfect. Sunny, windy, lit the thing no prob.
Rode around and felt...weak...put music on, and just went fast...for some reason I can't ollie today.
I decided to try to see what I look like and tried to make a video. Battery died...got another, made a little skate away and skate back vid, then watched it. I think I look like a flailing pansy, you know, the girlie hands. My ollie was 1inch...I erased it in a huff. I will make more, it is good to see what I am doing...I reminded myself to strong up my frame, strong stance, do it so I mean it. You have to! And it got better.
I also decided to rewind and just ollie for a bit. I pulled down the 4inch wooden manual pad and just jumped up and rode across it a bunch, doing the really slow roll up and pull one truck at a time up onto it one way, then pushing fast and ollie-manual back over it.
That made me feel better...I have to remember to accept that I am starting over...you can't stop for 5 years and expect to keep the same skill set in skateboarding. It's all practice. I'm fit enough to get it. I just need to do it daily. Paula suggested a skate training program, like I'm using in running, but that feels a little weird for me. I could commit to just doing it daily. It is tough to want to, though, without anybody to go with. I need an MP3 coach! haha!
Friends would work as well...
So anyways, my point today...
I got a little bummed out during my session, so I took it back to the basics, and that made me feel a lot better. I sure hope I can find some gals to ride with here.
I'm gonna listen to the new Roots an chill...

Monday, June 21, 2010

Sun.Jun21st: 1st Day!

This is me.
I teach lessons at the youth centre here in Courtenay, BC. We are so lucky to have an indoor skatepark!! I loooooooooove skateboarding, even though I am not that good at it anymore. It has shaped my life, and helped me become who I am. I am trying to give back to it, and just introduce other people to skateboarding, too.

And now that summer has finally begun, I get to start a new mission!

I showed up at the park around 11, pulled out the bbq, set up at the picnic table, and started trying to light the briquettes. It took about seven tries, an hour and the help of a nice scooter dad.
I warmed up as I waited for it to burn off, settling back onto my shady blanket after every second or third lap around, the sun was out in full effect!
There's a loongboarding crew who meet up there every weekend around noon, and I met a younger girl named Erica, she travels around to longboarding events all up an down the coast, which is excellent!
I stayed for three hours, all told, cooking and eating a couple cheesy dogs, skating, and hanging out in the shade and getting sun. A great session for me, a good excuse to get on my board. I'm looking forward to next weekend, and starting my lessons.
I hope to get the girls from my classes together out at the park by the end of this summer. Every class I teach, there are one or two girls who want to keep on going, and this will be a great way to keep them riding, and meeting up with other girls their age.

I am so excited to see what happens with this!
I need to get onto the poster making!