I was watching the crows...and I think they flew off with my confidence.
I got there, and it was perfect. Sunny, windy, lit the thing no prob.
Rode around and felt...weak...put music on, and just went fast...for some reason I can't ollie today.
I decided to try to see what I look like and tried to make a video. Battery died...got another, made a little skate away and skate back vid, then watched it. I think I look like a flailing pansy, you know, the girlie hands. My ollie was 1inch...I erased it in a huff. I will make more, it is good to see what I am doing...I reminded myself to strong up my frame, strong stance, do it so I mean it. You have to! And it got better.
I also decided to rewind and just ollie for a bit. I pulled down the 4inch wooden manual pad and just jumped up and rode across it a bunch, doing the really slow roll up and pull one truck at a time up onto it one way, then pushing fast and ollie-manual back over it.
That made me feel better...I have to remember to accept that I am starting over...you can't stop for 5 years and expect to keep the same skill set in skateboarding. It's all practice. I'm fit enough to get it. I just need to do it daily. Paula suggested a skate training program, like I'm using in running, but that feels a little weird for me. I could commit to just doing it daily. It is tough to want to, though, without anybody to go with. I need an MP3 coach! haha!
Friends would work as well...
So anyways, my point today...
I got a little bummed out during my session, so I took it back to the basics, and that made me feel a lot better. I sure hope I can find some gals to ride with here.
I'm gonna listen to the new Roots an chill...
No comments:
Post a Comment