Second lesson and it went great. Everyone was letting it all out, going for it, and killing it! My tiniest gal just bombed off the quarter in the street park tonight. She held on, stayed low, fell the first couple of times, and then nailed it, supermanning on the flat. She got scared at how fast it went, so I caught her and slowed her down after, cos that superman move looked painful, even if it wasn't for her in her full pads. Teen gal's mom showed up early with a camera again, I thought I explained last time about last lesson for photo ops. We need to get some confidence first! Poor girl just switched off. She was really trying for most of the lesson, getting the swing of pumping the transitions.
I gave sort of a physics lesson in both classes tonight, using a ball to demonstrate how momentum gets lost, absorbed. I'm not sure if I was clear, I should probably brush up on my basic science if I'm going to be dropping that ish. It made sense to me, the idea that we have to provide the momentum by using our bodies, our knees, our arms, our hips. It was fun. I am such a nerd.
Went over pushing from square one with the girls. Brought my homemade pipe+deck balance board so they could feel how their feet need to stay flat, why do they want to go on their toes all the time? The heelside lean I understand better, then they come and complain to me about their board always turning left. I think the balance board practice helps to make clear about heelside lean and tippy toes fails. Really trying to get across the importance of stance for balance.
Other than the awesomeness of progression tonight, my knees both ache right now, and one of the girls totally nailed me with an ankle chop while we were standing talking. Just one foot on the ground, one foot still on the board, whoop- kicked it into my ankle bone. I sucked it up and made like it didnt hurt enough to make me want to cry. Smiled and kept on talking.
Karma you nasty bitch.
No comments:
Post a Comment