Monday, December 6, 2010

jerk move?

So...I'm going to be in Mexico City for a day and a night on my way home from my Christmas vacation. I'm excited at the prospect of exploring one of the world's largest cities...and...of course, I google skateparks-mexico city.

Do my friends expect me to take off to skate? Are they going to be so bummed- really, knowing me- if I disappear for four hours to go on a mission to find and skate a crazy park in a crazy place?

I think the bummer part will be waiting at the baggage claim for my board. We've all agreed to not take checked bags...or have we..was that an unspoken agreement? I'm of two minds.


Of course it would be great to skate a new park/city. Is it unfair to my friends who don't skate to have to wait for my board as we change flights three times? Do I want to spend the time at the carousel anxiously waiting to see the board slide down the ramp, hoping it isn't totally fucked?

I suppose I don't have to take my own board...perhaps someone would be kind enough to share with me when I get there.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

shiny shiny


I worked hard at the LINC tonight. Soon as I got there for the afternoon shift, I pulled out the wide sweeper, the dustpan, the mop and bucket, and a can of coke. B helped me 'cos B's a fucking champ. He swept, and I followed with the sticky water, sliding the mop up and down the masonite transitions, and all the corners and the mean little pyramid, just for good measure. The place has been a deathtrap lately, just not safe for anybody. I've bailed too many times cos my board just slides away from me, under my feet, at sort of high speeds. Just can't go on letting good people get hurt. My body certainly cannot take it, and it isn't fair to have to take a bodyslam when you aren't even trying anything. It just takes the chance to do anything cool away if you get slipswiped before you're even warmed up. I swept the deck, and all the nooks and crannies, the whole place. It took half the night, and keeping all the dorks from killing each other and making a wreck of the centre took up the other half. After I shut it down, I took a few runs with the music loud. It isn't as slippy in fact, it feels safe again. My body is too stiff today from writing papers all weekend, and slamming unexpectedly in a certain slippery skatepark. I am missing my physio desperately. It was hard to bend, hard to crouch, just couldn't get into it...I have to stop whining and do something about this sore body...

Thursday, December 2, 2010

study break!

Ever notice that the more activity you do, the more energy you have, and vice versa? Well, I've been laying here with my laptop doing papers for most of each of the past 5 days. Last night I found myself just unable to read the screen anymore, I had black squares in my eyes as though Id stared into a square sun. Time to move, even though my body doesn't really want to at this point.
Went to the indoor, got my music on, and shoes and all. I get too excited sometimes when I go to skate. It comes out as shaking. It makes it hard to breathe. It takes a few runs to get it out of me. Until then I'm stick-leg-Jane. Two-scooters, two young guns, one old man like me. The bowl needs a mopping, it is scary slippery, and twice I slid out just before my leap over the little hip. Old guy slipped out just carving the corners, on his way to a sick grind, owes. I managed to run away from mine, and just get an ankle chop.
So went back to the no coping pipe ramp for more rock-fakie-rock back an forth, and some ollies up the transition. My music was loud, and I didnt talk to anyone. I said hello when I got there, then went into my headphone world, like always. Familiar faces. Singing to myself. Hand dances. Back up to the big boy bowl for axle stalls. Then more of the gang showed up and messed with me by not wearing helmets. Yes, it is my responsibility as a park employee to make sure they wear them, even if I'm not on shift. But I really was not in the mood to get into it with them. I just wanted to play. So thats where I left off.
A good one hour break from my spot here in front of this thing. Got the word that my January class has three girls in it already! So that ensures me a happy new year.