
I worked hard at the LINC tonight. Soon as I got there for the afternoon shift, I pulled out the wide sweeper, the dustpan, the mop and bucket, and a can of coke. B helped me 'cos B's a fucking champ. He swept, and I followed with the sticky water, sliding the mop up and down the masonite transitions, and all the corners and the mean little pyramid, just for good measure. The place has been a deathtrap lately, just not safe for anybody. I've bailed too many times cos my board just slides away from me, under my feet, at sort of high speeds. Just can't go on letting good people get hurt. My body certainly cannot take it, and it isn't fair to have to take a bodyslam when you aren't even trying anything. It just takes the chance to do anything cool away if you get slipswiped before you're even warmed up. I swept the deck, and all the nooks and crannies, the whole place. It took half the night, and keeping all the dorks from killing each other and making a wreck of the centre took up the other half. After I shut it down, I took a few runs with the music loud. It isn't as slippy in fact, it feels safe again. My body is too stiff today from writing papers all weekend, and slamming unexpectedly in a certain slippery skatepark. I am missing my physio desperately. It was hard to bend, hard to crouch, just couldn't get into it...I have to stop whining and do something about this sore body...
No comments:
Post a Comment