Saturday, November 26, 2011
Skating in Sayulita1
Scratched together some footage from my shitty old busted camera and made a short to keep myself awake through the wee hours of the night shift... Hastily edited with strange cut offs and mixed up orders, but funny to me.
I'm so excited to see what will come out of using my new camera that is fun and not a total craptastic hassle!
The countdown is so on.
Warning: There's some ridiculous shit on here that is not skating.
Wednesday, November 23, 2011
L.A. art-park tour
L.A. art-park tour
Monday, October 3, 2011
angry skate
Have you ever been saved by an angry skate session? I have and here is my story.
Some shit went down and I had to pack an overnight bag and leave. I actually had to get a ride (since I was too upset to drive) to my right now favorite skatepark to work this out. I was stressing out, could barely breathe, and nearly passed out after my first stretch-out-the-sticks round about the place. The puking feeling passed and into the bowl I went, scaring myself into the very present moment. I felt all odd ends and obtuse angles, my motions were stupid jerky and nerve filled reactions for the first minute. I nearly bail just thinking too hard and not being there, just angry stewing. I take some rest and stand over the deep end for a minute. While I'm catching my breath I look at the lovely smooth concrete, and rolling lines around the place, following the curves and corners... what shall I rock next?
And then I can breathe again. And my vision gets all sharp and bright and focused even though the light is starting to fail and all of the greys are beginning to blend into one flat looking darkness. I stop hearing anything but wind in my ears and all I think is - go faster, go higher, go over that, now scrape that. My mind stops raging and racing and I can see the next logical move without stopping to think about it. My body catches up with me and I start putting it into the right places and I feel all together again. And better than that, I am ripping my favorite park at dusk with a smile on my face and not one worry in the world.
Wednesday, September 21, 2011
Autumn Lite
I've had some really nice rides up Island to Campbell River's park and I am in love with it. How fast the bowl is, how esthetically pleasing it is even just to look at! I am getting it back, even though there have been those stumbly, clumsy moments of, holy shit its been awhile! The street section is a kickass loop with lots of variation. So fun - SO FUN!
The area in my achilles that got ruptured is still really sore, and pushing gets really painful. When I can't push any more, I use the bowl and love it, but after 40 minutes my achilles goes limp and weak. Leaves are turning, and there are some rainy days ahead, but I am excited to be able to skate on those sunny, cool days yet to come.
Sunday, August 21, 2011
A brighter day
So its been 123 days since I hurt my knee. 60 since I tore my achilles. I have been diligent in my physio, and just got an MRI, the results I will discover in a week. The summer air has turned past the dog days (all ten of them this year up here), and back to the cool overtones of September is coming. Skate lessons are listed in the Rec Reporter, and I am feeling pretty optimistic that I will be able to get back on board with them!
Tomorrow, I'm goin skating.
Been dreaming it for a week, which I am sure is my body's way of letting me know its time to go. So in the morning, following physio, it is on.
Sunday, May 15, 2011
Broken Wagon

I have officially cancelled all lessons for the spring round. No one came through to help me out, and I cannot imagine a way to show kids how to ride a skateboard without, well, SHOWING them how to ride a skateboard...so. Until my surgery or further healing happens, it is off. I have started to call and harrass the establishment who don't give two hoots about my life being put on hold, or my losing half of my income (I am also a gardener, and kneeling down is painful and impossible right now), so I have a special time every day that I call office one and ask again if there is space for me yet. Office two is closed until May24th, but they will soon be hearing from me every day as well. I can be a very squeaky wheel :)
In the meantime, I have chosen to support Skate Like A Girl SF crew in creating a magazine for girls who skate. I donated a little cash to help get it published here:
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/skatelikeagirlsf/escape-route-an-all-female-community-skateboard-zi
Big Ups to those gals for doing it for themselves!
Wednesday, May 4, 2011
skatepark ettiquette!
Loaned the bus from the city and took a field trip up to the big outdoor. Once everybody got rolling and the other kids already at the park got the picture that they needed to give us some space (NOT come invade every empty area we occupied) so that we could stay clear of the happenings and learn, it went great! Had a lotta rolling in down longer and steeper grades, one pretty nasty bail (right onto a spray painted patch of ground that said, 'FUCK'- oops!), a few tears, and a ton of smiles, and squeals, and laughing.
Here is printout I made special for this class about park ettiquette, which is adapted/copied from this blog:
http://bmx.transworld.net/1000090234/features/10-things-not-to-do-at-a-skatepark/
The 10 Commandments of the Skatepark!
1. Don't be a snake!
In simple terms, this means, “Wait your turn!” If someone else just dropped in, you have no idea where he’s going. He may transfer back and forth across the park for a solid 45 seconds, or he may hit one quarter and pop out back on deck. But if you drop in while he’s riding he also may smash right into you. So pay attention when other people are riding and don’t be a snake. Everybody takes turns at skateparks, it's called a lineup, just like in surfing. Everybody gets a turn, and nobody likes a snake!
2. Don’t Take Marathon Runs
I know you are young and have the stamina of a frickin’ wildebeest, but buddy, you gotta know when your time is up. If you are actually good enough to do a lot of lines, transfers, and tricks, then occasionally it’s all right to take a lengthy run. But if you are pushing across the park, carving halfway up a six-foot quarter, then cranking up the mellow bank before popping a wheelie, then you have to keep your runs short and sweet so other people can get in there and shred .
3. Don’t Use The Flat Bottom To Learn To Ollie
Basic tricks like flat ground ollies and manuals should be learned in a place where you have absolutely no chance of getting in someone’s way. You know, like your driveway or something. Not in the bottom of the bowl, or in the middle of a crowded park.
4. Don’t Be A Jerk To The Young Kids
Everyone has to start somewhere, and even though it may be frustrating that there is a six-year-old with a huge, bulbous helmet learning to pedal up a wedge while you are trying to land your first kickflip, if you are a complete jerk to the lil’ chap he may decide to pick up a scooter and leave his skate in the garage. Then by the time you are pro, that’s one less shredder Timmy out there watching your Vimeo video and buying your signature wheels. Be patient with the kids and try to help them on occasion. And if their parents are around, maybe give them some advice, too, on how their kid can safely ride the park with everyone else. It’ll help the parents, it’ll help the little kid, and it’ll help you get in your runs without having to be worried about committing accidental skateboard manslaughter.
5. Don’t Be A One-Upper
If you see someone trying a trick over and over again, don’t go do it right in front of him just to show him how easy it is for you. That’s like a slap in the face. If you know how to do the trick, you can offer to help him out. Or if you want to try the trick, too, you can ask him if he minds if you try to learn it together. Then you can both learn from each others’ mistakes, and by the time you both pull it you have a made new friend to add on Facebook and poke the next time you are going to the park.
6. Don’t Disrespect The Locals
This one covers a lot of ground and includes things like not leaving trash at the park, not messing up the ramps or ledges, and understanding how the park runs itself. If you show up to a park for the first time, chances are you are riding into someone else’s home away from home, so you need to treat that place with respect. You may never go back there again, but the people who ride there every day of the week want to keep their spot in tip-top shape for as long as possible. The vibe of the place and watching how the locals treat the park and each other will give you a pretty good idea of how you should act there.
*7. Don’t Sit On The Ledges
No, those are not benches for you to post up for the afternoon and eat your Lunchables. People actually use the concrete rectangles for riding. In some instances it may be okay to sit on a ledge, and sometimes it may be okay to chill on the deck of a ramp, but before you get comfy, look around to make sure no one is eyeing up whatever it is you are sitting on. You’ll eventually develop a sixth sense for where riders are going and where the safest place to rest is, but until you fully understand it, stay far off to the sidelines when you aren’t riding.
8. Don’t Vibe The BMXers
One of the most annoying things a BMXer can do to a skater is stand on the coping with his bike propped up on the pegs, waiting to drop in. While this may make skaters want to air out and kick their bike right out from under them, we have to understand that BMXers ride differently than us, and to them, that’s perfectly acceptable. If you need that coping or deck space they are taking up, just give them a quick heads up that you are coming their way and they will probably move for you. Respecting everyone in the park, including BMXers, and scooters is always important. The more bike riders and skateboarders can get along at a park, the more parks we will be allowed to have.
9. Don’t Be Afraid To Apologize
If you slip up and break one of the rules above, don’t be afraid to apologize to people when you realize it. If you get plowed over because you were in the way, dust yourself off, make sure the other rider is all right, and tell him you are sorry for not looking out. He’ll be pissed that he crashed, but a simple apology goes a long way to fanning the flames of a hot head.
10. Get out there and RIP IT UP!
Not only will you have a great time, but you will automatically earn respect from everyone there if you show up and get to work. It doesn't matter how good you are, if you shut up and skate, you will get props. Everyone has to start somewhere, and if the big kid rippers at the park see you trying your best, you will be welcome to keep on riding with them.
And here are some stickers I drew for the kids FOR MASS STOKEAGE!!!:
Tuesday, April 12, 2011
blaaaggghghh
Watch this instead. Skatopia , yeahh!
Tuesday, April 5, 2011
the best
haha, I was really not looking forward to this round of lessons. One of the higher needs guys from last round had told me that his mom had signed him up for the rest of the year's sessions, but he was over it. And if someone doesn't want to skate, I'm not going to make them. You fall, it hurts. It takes too much focus, motivation, determination, and persistence to learn to skate. You have to want to. Badly.
So I was happy to receive two classes of really motivated kids! It was rad, except for my knee, which I forgot was hurt, and did the 'how to use kneepads' running slide across the box and down the other side that nearly made me cry. Suck it up, yo.
I got three girls who love to skate, My little mini ripper, who skates in tutus and leggings, my tall girl getting taller, and dealing with the weird balance challenge, and my quiet girl who thought "skateboarding is very much fun" after taking some serious bails, is back from Taiwan for more!
I also have a gal in my boys class, and she is my hero. The boys are a riot. They are trying so hard to fly before figuring out walking, and just crashing all over the park. Its funny to me, since after having a few sit down talks about taking our time, and learning the steps, they are still sure they know whats up. I think next class I am going to have to show off a little so they see that I could have something to teach them. Right now they do not believe that.
Anyways, great first day. Hope I get my sticker paper soon.
Sun is shining, and I am out.
Friday, March 18, 2011
better than ping pong

Stickers didn't get finished quite yet, I have to order the clear sticker plastic from an online store. Apparently I forgot that I live in a faraway forest, tiny island village where futuristic clear stickers are a mystery to all those who work in the four local print shops. I guess I have to sort of finish the drawing/design part. The one I've drawn has Jem hair, which I think is only cool to me.

I have two weeks off now to rest my sore bones, and really need to get some new shoes. I think my feet nearly came apart, they are so sore from jumping and running in my old pair of suede gone baggy, worn in, worn out, time softened, rounded cornered skate slippers. It is time.
Almost forgot the most interesting part of the evening! Following the lesson, there was a meeting in the youth centre attached to the park. It was full of city honchos, and the youth centre staff were putting on an open house and presenting their new programs and outreach developments within the community (and there are some awesome developments, the ladies in charge deserve props!). So near the end of the presentations, Kathie, my 'boss' sees me hovering over there by the food table in the corner, and introduces me as 'one of our casual staff and also our skateboarding instructor who is working hard to get girls into the sport'. Yay!
As if having all the eyes in the room on me wasn't enough, there were clear looks of distrust/ disdain/ disapproval on more than a few faces! I got a definite feeling that the skate park meant nothing to them, and I guess- why should it? But wow! In the meet and greet following, this vibe continued as I tried to introduce myself to the mayor and some city councillors. It occurred to me that skateboarding has a pretty bad rep here in this community, and at one time not too long ago, I would have been very proud of that. But then I started to wonder how is that image persisting, with the X-Games being on TV, and so many kids into it now; and most importantly, how will that attitude affect skateboarding's future here-what if they decide the park isn't worth the trouble? This indoor park is run by these people, they decide whether or not to repair it and/ or keep it operational. They got a really decent outdoor park built, and have a one of a kind indoor. This thing is a gem. A city run youth centre with an indoor skate park has an incredible draw. We are so lucky. Now I know that I am going to have to work to get some love for it, to keep it open and operational as well as appreciated. I have some PR to do. Great.
Here is the link to the newspaper that covered the open house. Notice that the skate park is referred to as an amenity alongside and on the same level as a ping pong table (p2). Huh?
http://www2.canada.com/comoxvalleyecho/story.html?id=d523e72a-5a4e-413b-b995-e25233b825fb
This is so much more than a ping pong table!
Monday, March 7, 2011
kick ass

Monday, February 28, 2011
times two
I gave sort of a physics lesson in both classes tonight, using a ball to demonstrate how momentum gets lost, absorbed. I'm not sure if I was clear, I should probably brush up on my basic science if I'm going to be dropping that ish. It made sense to me, the idea that we have to provide the momentum by using our bodies, our knees, our arms, our hips. It was fun. I am such a nerd.
Went over pushing from square one with the girls. Brought my homemade pipe+deck balance board so they could feel how their feet need to stay flat, why do they want to go on their toes all the time? The heelside lean I understand better, then they come and complain to me about their board always turning left. I think the balance board practice helps to make clear about heelside lean and tippy toes fails. Really trying to get across the importance of stance for balance.
Other than the awesomeness of progression tonight, my knees both ache right now, and one of the girls totally nailed me with an ankle chop while we were standing talking. Just one foot on the ground, one foot still on the board, whoop- kicked it into my ankle bone. I sucked it up and made like it didnt hurt enough to make me want to cry. Smiled and kept on talking.
Karma you nasty bitch.
Tuesday, February 22, 2011
HIGH KICKS '11!
Off to a new start in this new year with a batch of new rippers to get stoked on the feeling of four wheeling. So far we are awesome. Monday night mayhem brings one class of 5 boys, another class of 5 girls, soon to be 8 girls. Amazing.
Everyone is off to a radical start, we are all pushing strong. Need to clean up a set of bearings and find wheels for one guy whose board has no go, then collect up some wrist guards so my girls feel free to fall on their fannies. I love whoever it is that brings us the free supply of Skateboard mags, big ups! I hand them out to the newbiest newbies to read through and get acquainted with parts and pieces, the way I did to learn to put trucks on straight when I didn't know which way was up.
Letting all the ladies know about High Kicks For Skate Chicks upcoming this summer at the outdoor Lerwick Park. I'm thinking t-shirts this year. We are going to be a crazy 8's skate gang!
I wish I could take pics of these guys and gals and how hard they're working to get on board. Hopefully you will be seeing them all at a park near you soon.
Here is some great footage of the park I feel blessed to share and get to use here in Courtenay, BC.
Eisei Sugimoto, the man from Japan is here to show the kids what's up and how to charge a park proper like a freight train. I'm so glad he came!
Wednesday, January 19, 2011
I still love Van Halen


